List of Initital Sources

In order to find some initial sources, I simply googled ‘The Causes of Transsexualism’, ‘Gender Identity’, ‘Transsexualism’ etc. and filtered for relevant material.

One source that I think will be useful is the NHS website: http://www.nhs.uk/Conditions/Gender-dysphoria/Pages/Causes.aspx

Additionally, I have found some online articles that may provide a starting point for some of the theories I could discuss:

From my google search, I found the wikipedia entry: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Causes_of_transsexuality

This suggested some potential theories I may want to look at such as Blanchards Theory of Autogynephelia which is discussed in the third bulletpoint link above. I also read briefly about a case called The John/Joan study which I would like to read more about.

My initial source, however, will be ‘The Transsexual Scientist’ by Dana Bevan which offers information about the causes of Transsexualism from a scientific and personal point of view. I discovered this source by similiar search methods mentioned above, on amazon books.

Leave a Reply

